T120 Fuel gauge not reporting accurately - Triumph Forum: Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums
Water Cooled Twins Talk Discussion of water cooled Triumph Twin related matters and topics.

 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Davey gravey
  • 1 Post By Davey gravey
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-20-2019, 02:48 PM Thread Starter
SuperStock
Main Motorcycle: 2018 Bonneville T120
Senior Member
 
Rip Van Finkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 218
T120 Fuel gauge not reporting accurately

Yesterday I fueled up and the bike is reporting that I only have 3/4 or a tank. After some miles, the estimated miles left on the tank decreased, but it never reported a full tank. The fuel up before I noticed the tank reading seemed to get “stuck” for a while. Is there a float in the tank that might be having issues? I haven’t modded the bike or anything. It just started happening out of the blue.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rip Van Finkle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-20-2019, 03:54 PM
Formula Extreme
Main Motorcycle: ThruxtonR,
Senior Member
 
pmorritt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: N/California/Palm Desert
Posts: 779
Other Motorcycle: BMWR1100RT
The only time my fuel gauge said full was when i tipped it to the left or right and kept squeezing in the last drop so that when it was upright was right at the top did the gauge show full. When it shows reserve i usually have little less than a gallon left.

Masquerading every day as a normal person is exhausting.
pmorritt is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-20-2019, 05:36 PM
SuperSport
Main Motorcycle: Street scrambler
Senior Member
 
Davey gravey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Sunshine coast Australia
Posts: 1,261
Extra Motorcycle: Sr400
There been an issue with the sensor. Triumph sent a memo to all dealers and my dealer gave me a copy when I had a similar problem. I wish I read it more because I've forgotten. Your dealer should be able to tell you. Mine went back to normal after a few tanks but I now reset the trip meter every ride just in case, old school style.

Sent from my TA-1033 using Tapatalk
Rip Van Finkle likes this.
Davey gravey is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-20-2019, 11:02 PM Thread Starter
SuperStock
Main Motorcycle: 2018 Bonneville T120
Senior Member
 
Rip Van Finkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davey gravey View Post
There been an issue with the sensor. Triumph sent a memo to all dealers and my dealer gave me a copy when I had a similar problem. I wish I read it more because I've forgotten. Your dealer should be able to tell you. Mine went back to normal after a few tanks but I now reset the trip meter every ride just in case, old school style.

Sent from my TA-1033 using Tapatalk


Is it something covered by warranty or does it just work itself out?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rip Van Finkle is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-20-2019, 11:10 PM
SuperSport
Main Motorcycle: Street scrambler
Senior Member
 
Davey gravey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Sunshine coast Australia
Posts: 1,261
Extra Motorcycle: Sr400
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rip Van Finkle View Post
Is it something covered by warranty or does it just work itself out?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
They didn't have a fix for it. They found it first in the bobber and that was the notice they gave me. It basically said it sorts itself out in time
Mine took about 5 tanks from memory and hasn't done it since.
The distance to empty went up instead of down and the quantity gauge stayed unchanged. You could try with the warranty but it's possible they'll turn you away like they did me as an unknown fix.
Like I said set your trip meter every ride just in case it doesn't fix. For me it's no big deal as I've always done it this way. Triumph has many bugs in the electrical side of things, lucky they're sweet riding bikes.


Sent from my TA-1033 using Tapatalk
Rip Van Finkle likes this.
Davey gravey is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-21-2019, 03:33 PM
Grand Prix 125
Main Motorcycle: T120 Black
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Clackmannan , Scotland
Posts: 25
works itself out.
mine reads 131 to empty for most of the tank from full to quarter empty

but as i fill up /use it it is getting more accurate (ish)

when its yellow.. fill up
demonbane is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-23-2019, 09:42 PM Thread Starter
SuperStock
Main Motorcycle: 2018 Bonneville T120
Senior Member
 
Rip Van Finkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 218
Started up today and the gauge wouldn’t move. Then it started moving and the estimated miles remaining started moving. Fueled up and it’s been working fine. I hope this works itself out.... thanks for the info!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rip Van Finkle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options
All posts must adhere to Forum Rules

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Triumph Forum: Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter your valid email address, that can receive an automated confirmation message. Otherwise, you won't be able to gain full access.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome