Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Premium Member
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been shopping around for replacement shocks for my 2014 T-100. They have a set of YSS shocks for around 400 bucks on e-bay that seem to be comparable to Hagon or Tecs. Does anybody have any experience with YSS?

·
Registered
6,049 Posts

·
Premium Member
170 Posts
I found YSS to be way too stiff as well. I have since gone with Icon's and am very happy with them.

·
Registered
3,885 Posts
I got along fine with my YSS emulsion units...not the reservoir ones. Not sure why folks are saying they're too stiff. That's why they have preload adjusters and about 50 clicks of rebound adjustment. If you get too heavy of springs for your weight, then ALL shocks will be stiff!!

Good luck,

--Rich

·
Registered
6,049 Posts
I got along fine with my YSS emulsion units...not the reservoir ones. Not sure why folks are saying they're too stiff. That's why they have preload adjusters and about 50 clicks of rebound adjustment. If you get too heavy of springs for your weight, then ALL shocks will be stiff!!

Good luck,

--Rich
225# pal of mine had his fancy YSS back and forth to the USA distributor three times before demanding his $$$ back. NO spring on hand was light enough apparently..., and he's no sylph. :D

Same pal had a similar experience with Ohlins, at least with better cooperation down in NC. After three tries, they are almost as good as my Ikons on a bumpy back road. ;)

From experience, generic stuff rarely works. When Ohlins builds a shock specifically FOR an application..., THEN..., adjusting spring rate and damping works just fine.

Same pal had a great experience with his Tiger 800 forks and shock at Ohlins in NC. My 796 with DU-737 is great value ordered for my weight and riding style from NC.

·
Registered
3,885 Posts