Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm about to install the free spirits xpipe on my 2017 triumph Bobber. Trying to add some power, improve the sound and maybe make the motor run cooler. Does anybody know if it is absolutely necessary to get the motor re-mapped after the install? I'm fairly new to working on my own bike but I'm good with my hands and a quick learner. I know its probably a good idea to get it re-mapped but can anybody with more experience weigh in if its absolutely necessary ? if so why? Much obliged.

·
Registered
383 Posts
Roach’O,
What we have seen with the new triumphs is that a remap/tune is not required. That being said, there are gains to be had with richening these bikes in the mid range. Unfortunately the only tuning option at this time for the 1200 motors is a Power Commander. Long story short, put the X-pipe and ride it, your bike will be fine.

·
Premium Member
1,486 Posts
I'm about to install the free spirits xpipe on my 2017 triumph Bobber. Trying to add some power, improve the sound and maybe make the motor run cooler. Does anybody know if it is absolutely necessary to get the motor re-mapped after the install? I'm fairly new to working on my own bike but I'm good with my hands and a quick learner. I know its probably a good idea to get it re-mapped but can anybody with more experience weigh in if its absolutely necessary ? if so why? Much obliged.
Lots of info on this description: http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Triumph-Bonnie-T120-Bobber-Performance-Meerkat-x-pipe-crosspipe-xpipe-/122725583047

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thank you both for your helpful response. Good to hear re-mapping is not necessary. Now I'm hoping the free spirits xpipe was the way to go. Do any of you know if the meerkat is a better product than the free spirits xpipe?

·
Registered
383 Posts