Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok, i have had this bonnie for a few years now and i love it in the summer, spring and fall - it's basically useless whenever the weather drops below 50 degrees though... it does eventually start in the cold weather but it takes about 20 cranks and then has to warm up with high idle for like 20 minutes before I can ride it...

i always dealt with this because i didn't ride much in the winter - however, now i am using the bike to commute to work....

I need a bike that starts up on the first try, no matter what in any kind of weather - kind of like my kawasaki vulcan did.... if i cant get the bonnie to do this then i will have to sell it and buy a jap bike i suppose - or a bike with fuel injection maybe?

I am not a mechanic (not even close actually :) so i dont know if this is a problem that can be fixed or not??

I know there are a lot of posts about slow starting in the winter...

Does anyone know if it is possible to resolve this problem??? I am willing to try anything because i love the way this bike rides AND looks.

I need something that is reliable though...

·
Premium Member
1,908 Posts
The one thing I have noticed about these bikes is that the cold starting "habits" vary depending on the idle. Mine used to be a bit of a pain and then I discovered my idle was set too low (I don't have a tach on the bike). I was idling at about 850 RPM. Once I bumped it up to 1000 RPM, it starts much quicker when cold and the choke has a very different effect.

·
Registered
257 Posts
These bikes do not have a choke per se: only an enricher circuit. It may be a bit of a pain, but I remove the left sidecover, pull the "choke" lever all the way out and stuff a rag into the air filter opening. (I have removed the snorkel.) Once it starts I remove the rag. It always starts very quickly regardless of temperature.

·
Premium Member
445 Posts