Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I raised a question in another thread about the blessing given to progressive springs and thought I'd continue here for my own curiosity. It seems there is a belief that linear springs are "stiffer" than progressive and that does not make sense to me.

A progressive rate spring does not determine stiffness as I understand. You can have a soft light linear spring and a stiff progressive one for example. I'm no expert, but simply trying to understand why such a focus on Progressive front springs as the cure all, when my (limited) experience and most discussions I have had over time with suspension houses is they are an old solution to an old problem. As with many things, people can go with a common thought simply because it seems like a good idea, and it gets reinforced by more people following a suggestion. The standard set up is garbage so anything is an improvement so that may be where it was born from. I am just trying to understand why it seems to be promoted so heavily and maybe it is that it is the quickest/easiest/most cost effective fix. My research shows that for around A$800-$1K I can have the forks set up with good quality springs, valve emulators and preload adjusters and for what will be a keeper seems like a good investment. Then when upgrading to an "adjustable" rear shock, the front should also be capable of the same to get the optimum set uph.

Just interested in peoples thought processes.

·
Registered
143 Posts
Progressive spring is stiff and smooth when needed, linear spring is a compromise. When you drive in smooth road progressive springs are smoother than linear (linear is stiffer). When you drive to bump or brake heavily, linear spring takes that hit, but stiffness is same all that time. Progressive springs goes stiffer in every inch and thus its better, front end doesn't dive and you feel better.

·
Premium Member
6,462 Posts