Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My wife has an 2011 Bonnie its coming up on its 1st service between 500 and 800 miles, the dealer whats 250 to do the work which only takes and hour and a half, even though I am fairly new to bikes I am not new to maintence and repairing, what is involved in the 1st service? I don't have a service manual for it yet, I also don't wanna void her warranty either, I mean bikes aren't that hard to maintain so do you think I should let them do the first service and do the rest from them on or just do it my self.
Sorry if this is a repost but I couldn't find anything similar
Any and all comments would be appreciated
Thanks

·
Premium Member
722 Posts
My bike is a carbed model but, pretty much they change the break-in oil and make sure that everything is still working properly; clutch, brakes, chain is still tight, all the lights work, and so on.

There may be a few more things that I have left out and maybe more is involved with EFI models, I don't know.

I'm sure that they have some 57 point check list and a minimum charge rate for these things which, in reality means nothing as to really what needs to be done.

To keep the bike under the protection of the warranty, I advise that you let them do it.

I know, it's a ton of money for basically nothing that you cannot mostly do yourself.

I know what that feels like.

·
Registered
603 Posts
If you're comfortable with basic wrenches, do it yourself. You need to know how to work on your bike and this service is as simple as it gets. It will not void any warranty if you do your work yourself. Just make sure you document what you did in your maintenance manual and keep the receipts for oil/filter. It is really just and oil change and and a glorified pre-ride check.

·
Banned
144 Posts
If you do it yourself...KEEP THE RECEIPTS!