Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of October's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 70 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All!

While not posting much at all, I have been enjoying this forum since getting my new 2009 Bonnie SE late last year. And what a blast it has been!

My dad & I recently came back from a fun trip riding in and around Gatlinberg, TN through the Smokey Mountains, Blue Ridge Parkway, Deals Gap, and many more. Upon return, my Bonnie got me to thinking about where the bike's history has been, is currently, and furthermore, where it's going.

Being in the automobile business, I've seen many "heritage inspired" vehicles come and go. Some with better luck than others. But the Bonneville has a charm, I believe, that is hard to resist. It's nimble, quick, comfortable, and a well laid out standard.

As some automobiles have found out, (the New Beetle, Mini, Camaro, Mustang, Challenger, & Thunderbird come to mind) once you go the retro route, it can be difficult to find the next logical step to take the brand.

After putting nearly 900 more miles on my Bonnie during our trip, I found myself asking what should/can Triumph do to improve this bike to encourage me to purchase a new one a few years down to road?

Increase power? New(er) design? Upgraded suspension?

What would you like to see Triumph do in the coming years to entice to you move into a new Bonneville?

·
Registered
7,994 Posts
They could do worse than take a look at some of the modified machines on this forum. plenty to inform the Triumph design team of various ways and directions to take the Bonnie and other twins.

·
Premium Member
4,862 Posts
Really really good question, ST8, and Nicwiz is right too. The Bonneville line is at a great price point. It's going to be tough to modify it much. I'd like to see it lose some weight (because I can't seem to get below 185).