Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, all.
I have two rolling basket cases that I am planning to use to make one rider. I have to pick between the two frames. The first is a mid-60s Bonnie with a hardtail welded on. I am leaning toward using that frame, unless I learn that this other frame is something special. The friend that I bought these bikes from thinks this was a Harley frame. I'm a total newbie, so I have no idea. Can anyone tell?

The most distinct thing about this frame (to my untrained eye) is the way the top bar comes all the way back to make a Tee into a cross bar.

For the most part, the frame looks like it is unaltered from the way it was originally built, except for the motor mount tabs and the neck. I think the gusset used to have roughly the shape of the red line, until someone cut it out to fit a gas tank.

So... any ideas what this frame is?
Thanks --
-- Jim

·
Registered
4,978 Posts
The frame you have posted a pic of above looks like a home-built fabrication to me. IMHO, it holds no particular historical, engineering or aesthetic connection to the bike. But then, what do I know..?

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
GrandPaulZ said:
If you are building a chopper, I'd stay with the altered triumph frame if the welds are sound on the rear end clip...
and DeanRider said:
The frame you have posted a pic of above looks like a home-built fabrication to me. IMHO, it holds no particular historical, engineering or aesthetic connection to the bike.
That pretty much confirms the way I was leaning. As I think about it more, even if this frame was something "highly desirable", it's not really what I want. So I am better off to build on the Triumph frame, and sell this one to somebody that likes it.

GrandPaulZ said: