Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
What's up guys. As of recently I started riding without earplugs and noticed a sound that has me curious. It could be something that's been there forever, but I just noticed it so I wanted to double check with you guys. If it's normal, awesome! But if it's not I would like to fix it. It resembles a ticking/rattling sound through the rev range but most prominently in the 4k rev range area on acceleration and decceleration. Sounds like its coming from the left most side below the tank. I know the speed is an orchestra of different sounds, but I'm not the best with differentiating sounds such as lifters, injectors, valves, etc.

The only mod to the engine itself is an SAI delete. Bike is a 2010 speed currently at 17k miles. Bike is running great

https://youtu.be/_l8UK2O9TxM

Thanks in advance!

·
Premium Member
224 Posts
Hi, That to me sounds quite normal, of course were not standing over it like you are ...which means we might not hear any mechanical noise as well as you do ! .......I personally can hear no ticking or rattling or anything un-toward. Might be better option for you to pop into your nearest Triumph dealership & ask the mechanic's there to lean their ear towards it & then comment.
17K miles ....... have the Valve Shim clearances ever been checked yet ? If not it wouldn't hurt to check them & then at the same time you can inspect your Cam Chain Tensioner too ....I personally wouldn't expect to find anything wrong at that milage either.... but you'll at least have piece of mind then . Cheers.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·