Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
248 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i'm no expert - have done the odd oil change and took bits apart but i'm feeling brave and thinking of following these great instructions and having a go!

i won't be needing the bike until june next year so i have time... i'm only concerned i'll start it and not be able to finish

i have tools but not a carb balancer - not going to bother with this bit....

what do you think? worth a go or am i likely to screw things up?

·
Registered
41 Posts
I have done everything from that link but the valve check. I still only have 4600k. You can do this entire service in a day. Don't want to rush, no problem. Take two or three days. You will really KNOW your bike and see that is not too hard. I had the most trouble getting the throttle connection off of the carb bank. I also had plenty of sediment in the overfill coolent container. It took alot of flushing to remove. I purchased my bike used with 1200k and had carb issues. When I did the carb job I found they were put together wrong. Pay attention and do 1 carb at a time. I did this with my bike parked in front of my townhouse. If I had a garage I would have torn it apart even more. This was with no other transportation too. I had to get it together again to go anywhere. If you have the space and time it will be a great experience. ANY questions can be resolved here. It is a great feeling to get it done yourself. I cursed this bike a few times trying to get my carbs fixed. It took several removals and countless curses. When I finally got it right I smiled the entire ride. If I can do it you can do it. Besides, you may find that the dealer is not as much help as you would like. The dealer I purchased this bike from claims to have done a carb clean. I don't think so. I will do EVERYTHING I need by myself on this machine. Besides, its kinda fun!

·
Registered
218 Posts

·
Registered
248 Posts
Discussion Starter #6