Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Banned
9,598 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I read your archived threads and man is that some good info ! you are indeed the best speedmaster guinia pig ever ! :-D You've tried it all it seems. But i have to ask.....you seem to have said that with stock needles that 130's worked great, but that with the much richer thruxton needles that it was better with 125's. Do you still believe that, and what would you do with the mains in my setup.....

130's
thruxtons, no shims
stock pilots
3-1/2 turns
UNI very lightly oiled
no snorkel
bottom of filter/airbox drilled to same size as top opening

Would you go to 125's? I had 125's in it with heavily shimmed TBS needles but went back to 130's and it felt stronger. But since then i went to thruxtons wioth no shims and it seems a bit rich but just short of running faulty. (bogging,stumbling etc) So i have no experience with 125's while the thruxtons were in. Would you think the 125's would definatly be better or just THINK they probably would, and in what ways?

·
Registered
915 Posts
daz - I have an '03 T100 with Thruxton needles, Unifilter, no snorkle, AI reomved, 42 idle jets, 1 turn out on idle mixture adjustment, and Norman Hyde Togas. I am running the stock (110) main jets. I think I might still be a bit on the rich side, although the midrange is much improved from the stock needles and 120 jets I was running. If you were jettted right with the stock needles and 130 main jets, I would think that 125s with the Thruxton needles would be way too rich. The Thruxton needles are a lot thinner and more tapered than the stock ones. Hope this helps.

·
Banned
9,598 Posts
Discussion Starter #3