Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I would appreciate some help in identifying this motor. It appears to be an early Triumph lower. However, I have zero knowledge of triumphs, whatsoever, so it could easily be a 2010 Suzuki for all I know.

·
Registered
3,134 Posts
I think it s 250 Triumph.

·
Registered
329 Posts
it most certainly is a 250 triumph.in the UK they were around in very late 60s and early 70s,they had an upswept exhaust and I thought they were real cool,bit like a BSA starfire

Attachments

·
Registered
329 Posts
checkout the times on last two posts,No I didnt copy,tho it looks like it

·
Registered
329 Posts
probably not worth a lot.you could try listing it on ebay.over here in UK you could put it in an autojumble,some would buy it for the cases

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
What do you reckon would be a fair price for it, were I to post it on ebay?

Alternatively, what do you reckon the gross cost would be, of actually building an old Triumph bobber?

·
Premium Member
20,739 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Thanks for the help, btw.

I doubt it is worth starting a build for, and I doubt any price it could fetch would be worth the S&H. If anything, I'd most likely scrap it for the metals. As a motorcycle fanatic though, I'm really dying of curiosity, to find out what exactly it is.

·
Premium Member
7,365 Posts
It`s out of a 199cc Tiger Cub, not a 250. The Trophy 250 and Starfire had an upright cylinder, the Tiger Cub was angled forwards, just like your casings. Pic below...

·
Super Moderator
21,255 Posts
It`s out of a 199cc Tiger Cub, not a 250. ..
Sorry Rob, definitely a Trophy 250 engine :p

The Trophy is TR25W - the Trailblazer is T25T I believe

Front engine mount is the most recognizable feature - completely different between the Triumph 200 and 250 (BSA) engines