Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just received what seems an astronomical quote from Carole Nash. £2300/year for 3rd party liability only, in a locked garage in London.

I recognize I have a few bad tick marks against me:, I'm brand new to the UK, still on an international licence, just on the south side of 30, about 3 years of riding. But that still seems bonkers. My plan is just to get my licence sorted sooner rather than later (especially now), and call around.

Does anybody have any suggestions? Rates that I should expect in London for similar age, riding a few years? Brokers I should look into?

Thanks
mdfx

·
Registered
599 Posts
If you're looking for 3rd party only, having the bike in a locked garage will make no difference as you're not insuring the bike as such, but only any damage you do to somebody else.

I would start off looking for fully comp first as sometimes 3rd party only is more than other options, not sure why that would be, but I've heard it happening.

You can try one of the compare websites out there or one of these:

https://www.bikesure.co.uk/motorbike-insurance-menu/

https://www.bennetts.co.uk/motorbike-insurance

I've used both of these companies, but currently I'm with CN who don't seem to want your business.

Good luck.......

·
Registered
2 Posts
Use one of the comparison sites. Not all the insurers are on them but it will at least give you a good idea of the ball park figure you should be in (plus you can see the effect of going fully comprehensive and also no voluntary excess both of which I've found make the quotes cheaper for some reason at the moment.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Daytona 955 2005, me 62, yes old git, I have no noclaims discount as my other bike's are on classic insurance. MCE quoted me £139 for T P F & T which I thought was bloody good! Cheers Steve

·
Registered
13 Posts
carol nash