Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I’m embarrassed to say how much time I’ve spent over the last 3 days trying to install my new polished tri-tip slash-cut Trident exhaust (still not there but getting closer). As a caveat I’ll say I’ve read all the postings related to installing this product both good and otherwise. Thoroughly. Multiple times. Printed out the OnD pics and instructions (you the man!). Read the Trident instructions repeatedly. While I’m not a trained mechanic I’m pretty handy with tools and can follow instructions.

I’m not posting to bash Trident, but I’m extremely frustrated. I love both the look and the sound of this exhaust, but the current release is not commercial quality, at least not yet. It has the potential to be an OUTSTANDING product, but as they say, the devil is in the details. Something is missing in this equation – and I’m still not sure exactly what – but I intend to find out. There are at least 6 of us in this latest ‘class’ of new slash-cut tips customers in the past week or so. Perhaps if we pool our knowledge we can wrestle this thing to the ground once and for all.

Just for the record I’ll state my installation ‘assumptions’ or goals – for what it’s worth perhaps I’m misguided:

Installed the 3 cans should be symmetrical and pleasing to the eye

Ideally, the 3 cans will not touch or come into contact with the heat shield material under the seat (leaving a small amount of room for air flow/venting)

Ideally, the midpipe will not touch or come into contact with the heat shield material under the seat (again, for ventilation) – I don’t need or want a seat warmer.

With minimal to moderate adjustment, the tail light bracket should fit snuggly to support all 3 cans using BOTH bolts on each side (4 total).