Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Contemplating outlaying the $$$$ for the oem TPMS module and senders for my 20 mdl RS.
Love to get some feedback from others with oem setup.
Is it worth the extra money or I'm I better of with aftermarket unit and save some coin ?

One thing I've noticed about many of the aftermarket units is they also show tyre temperature. But wonder how accurate they would be.

·
Registered
7 Posts
I have them on my 2020 RS. It works pretty flawlessly so far and I like being able to easily check/monitor the PSi from the TFT. Keep in mind it's going to cost 2 hours of whatever your dealer charges for labor fee. For me, the labor fee was about even to the cost of the TPMS, ended up being around $500 usd total. And FYI, I have zero experience with aftermarket systems, so I can not comment on how it compares to other systems.

·
Registered
7 Posts
UPDATE: The TPMS earned it's worth yesterday. After work yesterday I decided to go for a ride and went up to a curvy road not too far from my home. Heading there I was on the interstate when my dash threw a notification that something was wrong with my rear tire and I should pull over. I clicked OK and monitored the psi but it wasn't changing. Watched it for a few minutes and the psi stayed the same, so I though that there was something wrong with the TPMS. I pulled over, turned the bike off, and restarted seeing if it would "reset" the system. It immediately threw the notification again. So I walked the bike and checked the rear tire to see if I had a nail/screw or something. Turns out there was a small gash in the tire that didn't go all the way through, but it was enough to slowly leak air. It was loosing 1 psi every ~5 min.