Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Although I've been riding 42 years, I am new to the Tiger 1050. As delivered, the top box has machined slots with nylon bushings to allow it to travel side to side approximately an inch. This appears intentional, and I'm wondering why. Can one of you guys enlighten me on what Triumph was thinking to allow this box continuous free movement? I'm stumped! Thanks, Olguy66:confused:

·
Registered
382 Posts
The topbox is designed to move slightly with the motion of the bike around corners. I can't see how this theory makes any difference in practice,but that's the way it is supposed to be.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The topbox is designed to move slightly with the motion of the bike around corners. I can't see how this theory makes any difference in practice,but that's the way it is supposed to be.
Thank you sir! I spent all of August this past year in the UK, and was sorely missing a bike while there! I don't know how you guys cope with all the rain, though! I guess it's all in what you are accustomed to! We fair-weather pansies in the States would be grumpy indeed! Thanks again for putting my mind (?) at rest! Bill aka Olguy66

·
Registered
351 Posts
Hi guys. I heard a slightly different expanation for the movement. I understand that at high cruising speed this slight movement allows the box to oscillate slightly thus reducing the chance of the bike developing a weave. The same feature is designed into the panniers on the sprint st. Not sure if it is carried over onto the tiger design. ( my 955i panniers are rigid )

Regards JJ

·
Registered
791 Posts
My 955 top box moves also. I don't like it; however, haven't bothered with tring to stiffen things up a bit. Anyone have a fix for this?

·
Registered
351 Posts
Hi Stephen.