Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i just installed a K&N filter in my 09 S3.I am ready to install Arrow Ti slipons.I will have to ride about 30 miles to my dealer of choice for the "brain surgery".is that acceptable or should i let the dealer install the cans and TOR before the bike runs?Seems to me it should not harm the engine to run prior to the "personality modification"but things are constantly changing! HELP!

·
Registered
41 Posts
Your primary fear would be a lean condition. Personally I don't think an air filter change is going to generate a big enough problem to cause engine damage.

I'd worry more about the greater size &amount of particles that the K&N filter is passing into your engine.

I've observed first-hand actual test data and empirical data that shows K&N filters to have poorer particle filtering properties than stock OEM filters.

When I was an engineer at Honeywell, my good friend Lou Brand started a business called Cleveland Technical Center, which performed oil analysis on internal combustion engines.

Cleveland Technical Center
3319 W Earll Dr
Phoenix, AZ 85017
(602) 253-6515

Silicon (dirt) contamination in motor oil was always found to be increased after switching to K&N automotive* filters, and decreased after switching back to standard paper filters.

Also, after using K&N Filters, dirt residue in the intake housing downstream of the filter always appeared to be greater.

*Note, no tests were performed on motorcycles.

Consider that if the flow is greater, it stands to reason that more crap is bypassing the filter.

·
Registered
89 Posts
Your primary fear would be a lean condition. Personally I don't think an air filter change is going to generate a big enough problem to cause engine damage.

I'd worry more about the greater size &amount of particles that the K&N filter is passing into your engine.