Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
Triumph Thruxton 1200RS - 2022 delivery. Verex decat exhaust, Omega Racer aluminium fairing.
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am waiting on delivery of a Thruxton 1200 RS to Darwin, Australia,
In the meantime I have ordered a bunch of performance and aesthetic enhancements.
I am going airbox delete, catalytic delete with high flow, no baffle exhaust.... As I am new to the world of modern electronic tuned motorcycles I am very confused by the wide range of opinions on ECU remapping, Power Commanders, Dyna Jet etc....
Some folks say the bike will run just fine with the stock ECU, others say a dyno and ECU remapping is essential..,,, other say use a Power Commander.
The bike will be for road use only. I am not overly concerned about performance gains , just to sound and look good,,,, for a 72 year old I think stock power will be fine. However, I obviously want the bike to run reliably and not run lean.... there is no local option for a dyno tune as the nearest dyno is 3000km away. I have found a TuneWorks file is available for the RS from DNK Tune Works (USA) but not sure if I want to try remapping myself and make a mess of the ECU... Opinions please....

·
Registered
Triumph Thruxton 1200RS - 2022 delivery. Verex decat exhaust, Omega Racer aluminium fairing.
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You can also send your ECU to DNK TuneWorks for peace of mind. We’ve tuned well over a thousand bikes, closing in on 2000 by the time 2022 will be over.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
The DNK website says mail in for North American customers only.... I am in Australia, so bike is Euro 5

·
Registered
374 Posts
I am waiting on delivery of a Thruxton 1200 RS to Darwin, Australia,
In the meantime I have ordered a bunch of performance and aesthetic enhancements.