Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of October's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Forum,

I've just recently brought home two old Bonnevilles that belonged to my Dad, who passed away about a year ago. Both are in pretty good shape, but haven't been ridden for quite a few years, so naturally need some attention. I'm going to get both up and on the road. But, I've never worked on any motorcycles before, so I've got a lot to learn and find myself having to ask a lot of very basic questions. So... Apologies in advance if I ask some questions that you've likely answered before.

Anyway... Right now, I'm trying to get some new tires lined up for the T140V. The stock tires on the bike now, are a 4.10-19 front and a 4.10-18 rear (Dunlop "red arrows").

Are a 100/90-19 front and a 110/90-18 rear the correct equivalent sizes for replacement? These would be Bridgestone, either S11 Spitfire or BT-45 (I'm still undecided).

I've used the search function a good bit, and read a lot, and think I'm on the right track here. But, frankly, still not quite clear on the equivalent relationships among all the different size designations and have found a few conflicting old posts regarding what fits and what doesn't. I'd really just like some confirmation/reassurance that if I have these ordered in, that they'll be a good size to use and fit without fender or chain guard interference.

Thanks in advance!

- Dave

·
Registered
2,332 Posts
Tyres for 1977 Bonneville are listed as:

Front 4.10-19 (modern eqiv 100/90-19)

Rear 4.10-18 (modern equiv 100/90-18 or 110/90-18)

Avon Roadriders are a popular choice as they are designed for classic bikes but with modern construction and rubber)

·
Registered
601 Posts
Hello Dave,

Welcome to the forum. If you do not have the shop manual
and parts books get them from on of the parts jobbers. It
will help you out a bunch.

Pookybear

·