Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So my rear tire got a flat and I brought it into a local place near my apartment. A harley shop mainly, but seems to have a good reputation and the closest triumph shop is down in New York City.

Anywho, I went ahead and had them order new tires (front and back). They tightened my spokes, mounted and balanced the two new tires.

The ride itself seemed pretty solid (been about 500 miles so far), but I noticed a lot of speed wobbles when hitting minor bumps on the highway (around 70-80mph) that I haven't noticed before.

So, I've had some time to take a look at things this weekend. I'm fairly new to mechanical work, but I noticed two things.

1) The rear tire is a Metzler Marathon, same size as the original tire. I believe the originals are Lasertechs? The new front tire is a Lasertech. Is this rear tire a problem for my Thruxton?

2) It seems like there is some exposed adhesive on the front. Not sure if it was done by the shop when they balanced, or maybe something fell off after?

I'd like to try and figure out the best way to fix this speed wobble, as it scared the crap out of me! I'm just not sure on the best starting point. Any help would be appreciated!

·
Lifetime Premium
1,670 Posts
I've got Metzelers front and back, no problems here. Metzelers are a little more sticky than a standard tire; a little more fun in the twisties.

Check your spokes, they can cause wobble. Make sure the axle nuts were tightened properly.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks, I'll double check the spokes. I was worried that maybe the Marathon rear tire would be a problem compared to the Lasertech.