Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
264 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
G'day All,

Been on the site for a while in the Twin Talk area...I have a Speedmaster at the moment and while I was happy with it...the love has now gone.

Went for a 3000km trip around Victoria and came back thinking that I wont do that again on the Speedmaster.

Reasons...

1. Not great around the twisties....the bike does not feel 'Planted' around the bends...
2. Not much power punching out of the corners... 0 - 60 in..<yawn>
3. Torque is low...if your not in the right gear coming out then its a
engine bumping thump to get going.
4. Cruising speeds up around 100 - 130km is a engine vibration annoyance...an this is with updated progressive springs..

All up, came home not very happy with my Speedmaster...think I'm over the cruiser.

So, now I have the touring bug and would more than likely do two big tours a year....already organised a couple for next year.

Now its time to look for a Sports Touring bike...having a squiz at all the types...but I'm getting more serious about the Sprint ST 1050.

Keep in mind Im 6' 2" and about 100kg....looking for a bike that performs and will still be comfortable after 500km plus runs.

Will the Sprint ST suit a bigger fella like me.....and is it a good Sports Touring bike on the long runs.

Would appreciate any comments, specially the negative ones so I know what to expect...when I say negative, nothing is perfect..so just after a realistic idea on the bike...warts and all, so to speak.

Thanks fello Triumph Dudes.

·
Registered
472 Posts
Keanhi, did you ride a 1050 yet?
You'll find its the best way to answer all your questions.
You will get a slight bias on this site i'm sure, but the bike really is incredible.
Power, great road presence, will go comfortably at speed for ever and you can throw it about on the corners.
Oh, did i mention the burbles? You have to ride one soon. Enjoy.

·
Registered
85 Posts
Hi Keanhi.