Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm tweaking things on my bike trying to get everything "just right". I hadn't intended to do this right away as I've only had the bike for a little over a week, but I figure after 400 miles I have an idea of what needs to go where. I figured I'd start at the top.
I'm around 6'2" with what I refer to as "monkey arms". With the bars as I received them, the bike felt pretty good when seated, but when I stood up, I was a bit more hunched over than I wanted, and the clutch and brake levers were too far up and I felt like I had to bend my wrists at a funky angle to work them. I had a dirt bike about a decade ago, but ergos weren't real high on my list of priorities at the time, so this is my first time setting up a bike like this. I've had a few sport/touring bikes, but there wasn't quite as much to change, especially when you're dealing with clip-ons. And with my dirt bike, I wasn't really too concerned about throwing it down the trail...I'm a little different about the Tiger.
I also have been slowly reading through the owners manual and I got the part about how you can turn the risers around to open up some more room in the cockpit, so I figured I'd give that a shot too.
Swapping the risers around was easy, just undo the four bolts holding the bars on, lift the bars and spin the risers. I took that opportunity to then roll the bars forward a few degrees. That felt great. So I buttoned it up and went inside for the night.