Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I purchased a 2000 TBS back in May and so far this site has helped me through a fair bit just by reading others posts, but the time has finally come for me to ask a question.
My left fork is starting to leak and I have zero experience rebuilding forks, my hope is that between this site and my Haynes manual I'll be able to do the job myself.

So my questions are;
1) How difficult is this job for someone doing it for the first time? i have done some work on bikes in the past, brakes, ignition, chain, sprockets, etc but never forks.
2) Are there any special tools required for the job? Id hate to get half way and realize I need something I don't have.
3) Below is the list of parts I plan on getting before starting the job. Is there anything else I should have on hand? Knowing the scarce availability of some parts and their lead time when ordering, I'd like to be ready to go.

Sealing washer 2040074-T0301
Slider Bush T2045085
Washer 2040077-T0301
Oil seal 2040078-T0301
Ring snap 2040079-T0301
Dust seal 2040080-T0301

Any other advise is always appreciated.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
One more question! Is it best to go with oem parts or has anyone had success with aftermarket parts? I see some aftermarket folks sell full rebuild kits but im not interested if the quality isn't there.

Sent from my K013 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2,352 Posts
Fork Seals