Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2,991 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can the ignition of a T140 be set with a dwell meter?
If so, what angle setting and how is it accomplished as I've never seen a 2 cylinder dwell meter?

·
Registered
372 Posts
Don't mean to be sarcastic but seen too many burnt pistons etc.
If you want all kinds of headaches use any other technique you want. If you want to set your timing and be sure it is dead on use a timing light - period. If you want to forget about timing issues permanently, get a Boyer.

·
Registered
2,991 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Talking two different things there.
Dwell meter sets the points, not the timing.
I use both dwell meter and timing light on the old car.

·
Registered
818 Posts
Hi Guys,I'm a newbie overhere:) so Hello again:)never had an old trumpy but plenty of time on BSA twins,I always thought dwell was the time contact points stayed open ? Yeh that sounds right,,,? ie the position of the breakers in relation to the cam lobe,with 2 sets of points putting a dwell meter on em could be done in theory-the way its been done since time immorial as you know is to have both sets opening at the top of the lobe-15 thou I think ?,locking it THEN TIMING IT,So to answer your question-dunno:)J.B.

·
Premium Member
3,989 Posts
In my limited experience with points, surely the dwell is set by the gap.
Bigger gap-longer dwell and vice-versa.
Or are you asking if the timing (the point where the breaker begins to open) can be set normally, but the length of time until closing can be varied? I`m just asking myself why anyone would want to do this?

·
Registered
818 Posts