Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The T120 is my first bike that doesn't have tubeless tires. Any suggestions on what kind of emergency patching kit would be good to carry on long trips?

·
Registered
108 Posts
Welcome to the world of tubed tyres. Ha! A pain in the arse, as I discovered only 300 miles from new. There is no emergency plugging. The best thing is to make sure you have good breakdown cover.

That said, some people swear by a product called Slime, which you put in the tubes and run with all the time. The theory being that Slime stops the punctures from deflating the tyre. I've no experience of it, other than I've now put it in my tyres and hope I don't have another "stuck out in the middle of nowhere on a bank holiday and it's at least 5 hours before the breakdown truck gets to you, and when he does he can't fix it anyway because he's carrying plugs, which are useless on a tubed tyre, thus needing a further wait for a trailer to a garage". :smile2:

·
Registered
Thruxton 1200 R , 900 , KTM Duke 390 , Honda NSR 125 , SWM 124
1,833 Posts
Its a long time since I had to make an emergency repair on a tube and it was only for off road . So I don't know where you would find a heavy duty patching kit but purely as a get you home fix a puncture repair kit from a cycle shop would get you mobile and fit a new tube as soon as possible . You will obviously need something to dismount the punctured tyre and remove the tube before you can patch it . And don't forget to remove whatever caused the puncture in the first place . My brother works as a patrolman for the AA and here in the lake district the majority of cars that puncture have ripped a hole in the sidewall from driving too close to the edge of the road trying to pass on our narrow lanes with sharp slate on the side , not repairable at all .

·