Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Folks, I could use some help. I've been trying to figure out what I need to do to improve the cornering on my 2013 T100 and I'm at a loss. I'll readily admit that I'm a noob when it comes to this, so if I'm missing the obvious, please let me know. Here's the situation:

When I attempt moderately hard cornering (almost peg scraping, speeds 35+), the rear end of the bike feels like it's trying to stand up. It's not sliding out from under me, at least I don't think that's what's happening. It will just feel like it suddenly catches and want to go upright. It's a rhythmic feel to it as well, so the longer the curve, the more times it will happen. Normal cornering is no problem, it's only when I'm trying to push it a bit.

I have TEC adjustable shocks. I originally set them up by measuring the sag, but have since increased the preload because I thought they might be too soft. I've also adjusted the rebound. I have room to adjust both preload and rebound more, but the adjustments so far have not really resulted in any improvement. It may have SLIGHTLY improved with additional preload, but not much.

The tires are the Kenda Cruisers that I got with the bike when I bought it last spring. I've put nearly 7000 miles on them. They still have life left in them, though I am looking at replacements. I've checked inflation and I've tested it using spot on pressure levels, slightly underinflated, and slightly overinflated. BTW, I'm 5'9" and 240 lbs fully geared up. I've not notice much in the way of difference at any inflation levels. Currently, the tires are at the recommended pressures.

Where should I look next? Is there anything I can do with what I currently have to improve the cornering? It's not that the bike is unrideable, but there are times where I'd like to get a little more spirited with it, but that wallow is unsettling.

·
Registered
7,507 Posts