Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I'm new to this great forum and a little overwhelmed with all the info. I'm looking into buying a T100 Daytona (late 60s or early 70s) and was wondering whether you could pinpoint me to info on which model to get / or whether there're big differences btw them. More generally, I'd be most grateful for advice on weak spots / things to look out for when buying this bike, and also info on engine/frame numbers in order to verify the year of construction.

Many thanks and regards from down under (Sydney)
Chris

·
Super Moderator
13,265 Posts
Welcome!

There's a lot of personal preference that will appear in replies to as open-ened a question as yours.

It's all down to which specific examples you have to choose from. One may be a numbers-matching original but scruffy one, and anothr might be a freshly overhauled and painted but un-original and/or non-matching bike.

General condition, completeness, paperwork and test ride are probably the most important points to consider. If the bike isn't running or can't be test ridden, you are at a distinct disadvantage.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for that first reply. Ok, let me a bit more specific:

- are there major differences btw the early models (67-69) and the later models 70-73?

- I have found a 67 model which sounds interesting. Does anyone know the series numbers for this year?

- Colour is a kind of light green, what were the original colours / colour codes?

- and finally, and more generally, how is the spare parts situation worldwide for the t100daytona?

as you can see, my preferece is the original / unmolested model...this is going to be my first vintage bike, but from my experience with vintage cars, the originals were always the better choice.

thanks a lot,
cheers
Chris