Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,453 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Took a beginners trackday session this past Sunday. I was the only classic bike....one HD cruiser and the rest (35?) sport bikes plus two tiny Honda GROM's!

Intent here was to learn how to find decent corner lines and work ut how to better lean the bike! Not to become a racer ;-)

There are 14 absolute beginners in my group. Course was on a flat runway pavement laid out with cones. Was pretty challenging.

I don't think I ever mastered the course, never felt I was comfortable with the leaning methods they were trying to get us to do. The HD seemed to be scraping metal at nearly every corner :laugh2: but had really good lines.
I never seemed to close up on anyone and was passed by just about all in my group each session. Just couldn't get the bike to go fast around corners. Oh well, is it not supposed to be a race after all...I just settled in and tried to concentrate on my corner setups and entries...A total of 90 min track time in one day.
Should I got for another day, I will likely be in t he same beginner level group.

·
Premium Member
2,453 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

·
Premium Member
2,453 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I have Avon Road Riders. Ran standard pressures...33F, 38R.

·
Premium Member
1,042 Posts

·
Registered
2,848 Posts
Your second time out will be faster, as mentioned , practice makes perfect. Unless you're afraid you might fall in which case you won't get faster. Where ever you roll out of the throttle for turn in, each lap go a bit further before entering until it scares you. Then you'll have one limit figured out.
:surprise:

Green tape is faster.

·
Registered
Thruxton 1200 R , 900 , KTM Duke 390 , Honda NSR 125 , SWM 124
1,833 Posts
Here's a link to the pro photog's shots of my bike from the track day: