Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to motorcycles, took the safety course, bought a used 2011 Speedmaster (2000 miles), and love it. My question is about the stock round mirrors. I know there are inherently blind spots when you use side mirrors; however, these round mirrors have a much larger blind spot that I was expecting (in all my vast experience of 2 weeks). I was riding the other day and knew a car was there since I watched him drive into the blind spot, then I did a "shoulder check" and couldn't see him even though I knew he was there. I had to crank my head around quite a bit to see him, which seemed abnormal (subsequently some right hand twisting fixed the situation by putting him back where I could see him). I was thinking about buying some new oval or tear drop mirrors to hopefully alleviate this problem, but was wondering if that's just how it is on a bike and you need to turn quite a bit to check. I don't mind the so called "mickey mouse" mirrors, but mostly just care about seeing better. Thanks for the help!

·
Registered
349 Posts