Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I’ve seen a couple of threads about upgrading to stick coils from other bikes but some of the info is a bit contradictory.
Was there any consensus reached over what works, what doesn’t work and what kills the ECU/igniter?

cheers,

Stu

·
Registered
68 Posts
Hi All,

I’ve seen a couple of threads about upgrading to stick coils from other bikes but some of the info is a bit contradictory.
Was there any consensus reached over what works, what doesn’t work and what kills the ECU/igniter?

cheers,

Stu
Hi Stu, I've been using stick coils for about 3 years. They work better than stock, and are less expensive than replacing a bad coil. They work great on 900 engines. I tried a couple of different ways to make them work on my 1200 engine but no success. Often you'll read to use stick coils from a 600 Daytona. Those bike are old and so are the coils. The same stick coils are used in the big 1600 & 1700 Thunderbirds, much newer. I was having a tough time finding the connectors to plug into the stick coils. Yamaha uses the right connector. It's a small harness that I bought off eBay, less than $10. While you're at it switch the power supply to the stick coils using the Johnson Jolt, more voltage goes to the stick coils.
Greg

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Greg,
I’ll do as you suggest, stick coils & Johnson Jolt. Off to eBay to find the parts....
Cheers,
Stu

·
Registered
344 Posts
I did the stick coil thing on my 96 Sprint 900 turned CRK special. I got used TT600 coils for about 40 bucks the set. Since then Ive seen that for what it is worth, the triumph part number crossed over to this kawasaki unit, which can be purchased new from $40 each

https://www.rmstator.com/en_ww/produ...n-coil-rm06083

same manufacturer part number. If interested, the connectors are listed a ford product, 8 of them for 13 bucks