Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi from the UK, apologies this is my first time on the site so I'm not sure if this is the right place.

I've just put my Bonneville T120 in for a 10k service and had new Hekinau K60 scout tyres fitted.

Unfortunately on the ride home my steering was barely turning resulting in a very dangerous ride.

I took it back and they have told me its knocking and the steering bearing needs replacing. The problem was made more obvious by the tyres because they are less rounded than the stock.

Is this normal at 10k miles? I can't believe it would break so soon, not like I am taking it round a race track every day.
Turned into a very expensive day as its looking like another £200 for a bike that was driving fine beforehand.

Thanks
Harry

·
Registered
2014 Scrambler
249 Posts
Hi, BP and welcome.
Sorry for your misfortune. Firstly, I run the same tires and found they turn in very well, at least better than the Pirelli Sport Demons I had before. Did the service tech inflate the tires to the proper pressure? There is a noticeable difference in turning performance with a 4-5 PSI drop, I have found.
Second, depending on how the bike has been exposed to corrosives - kept outside or garaged, what kind of cleaning agent is used, are you the original owner and what did the previous owner do to the bike - some kind of contaminant could have gotten into the bearing. As for "knocking", can you explain more? That's generally a term I've heard regarding inappropriate engine noises, not steering noises.

·
Registered
1998 T595 Daytona 2014 Kawasaki Ninja1000ABS
7,809 Posts