Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi everyone have a sprint st 955i 2000 model keeps stalling at normal running temp. surges on trailing throttle , runs fine as soon as you put the power on. i can stop stalling if i catch it on the throttle had stepper motor resset twice in the last 6 weeks by main triumph dealer where i bought bike from but still stalling . they said they couldnt find a problem but i have asked them to check valve settings and reset stepper . bike now back at dealer to have another look but if anyone has had similer prob and found a solution please let me know. thanks john.

·
Premium Member
24,384 Posts
Welcome

Hi and welcome to the forum jonnyboggitt:)

I am no tech expert but that sounds like a stepper motor sticking issue to me.

Don and I ask all our noobs to please read our forum stickies, so thanks in advance:)

DaveM:cool:

·
Premium Member
8,211 Posts
Well since from what you are describing sounds like a throttle off problem I would check out your idle air control valve first then possible throttle position sensor.

Does it stall when you come down to idle? the IAC can be cleaned because the piston gets dirty but they can fail.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks to all of you who took the time to reply to me , bike in garage at mo , will let you know the outcome. but i tend to agree with your thoughts on the problem. sorry for replying to all with one thread but dont use computer much hope to get the hang of replying to all individualy soon. cheers john. ps it does stall when dropping down to idle.

·
Premium Member
8,211 Posts
Johnny, I am still thinking IAC if it stalls when it drops. The Iac is supposed to kick in and keep that throttle open at the specified rpms.

Just make sure its clean but could really need to just be replaced.

·
Registered