Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

New to the forum and relatively new to road biking! Mod 2 is approaching fast and, as such, I've been starting to look at what my first big bike should be (already been looking for six months truth be told!). I owned and rode a 125cc dirt bike as a young teenager for a number of years and am currently cutting about on a CB125R, must admit I've been bored of it since the moment I got it so looking forward to trading up. I'm 26 and I've been driving on the road 9 years, I'm a safe driver, never had a bump or crash, never had any points or speeding tickets etc.

Over the last few months in my lessons I've been riding an SV650, lovely bike but a few things I have decided my ideal first bike would need to have different.

1. Fairing (with crash bungs for the inevitable drop). I live in Scotland where the weather is often less than warm. The SV has been fine in town but pretty uncomfortable above 50mph for me. Also plan on doing tours once my experience ad confidence is built up a bit.

2. Size. I am 6' 4", I desperately do not want a small sized bike. The SV is a little cramped, knees start hurting after about 45 mins. I also hate the look of adventure bikes, though I understand these are often a bit more spacious. Unfortunately out of the question though due to the style.

3. Capability. I actually wish I had never bought the 125 as I have only had it a couple of months and stand to lose a good wack part exchanging it. Learning through experience, I don't want a bike that I will have to get rid of in 6 months time again only to lose more money unnecessarily.

4. ABS, again Scottish roads often not the greatest and I want to be safe.

5. Not too expensive. Comprehensive insurance is a disaster financially so will have to be TPFT. Therefore the bike cannot cost an arm and a leg just in case!