Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all! So, I've done some reading and searching on the forum about chains and sprockets.. I'm sure I'll be going with a D.I.D chain, however I am contemplating a sprocket change too, as I'm an expert at "while you're in there" syndrome....

My bike, a '95 Thunderbird, could use some more "legs" on the highway.. So, I'm thinking an 18T could be ok.. But maybe I should go 19T?

Has anyone done anything different, and what was the outcome?

I would love to hear about your experience and opinions here!

As usual, thanks in advance!!

Jim

Sent from my iPhone using MO Free

·
Registered
147 Posts
I usually like to gear a bike up when I get it, and that would help with the fact that the gear ratios are a bit closer than I prefer, but my first gear launches are already about as difficult as I can tolerate so I guess I will leave it as it is. I've got a '99 though, which I think already has 18T up front as stock? I can never remember off the top of my head...

·
Premium Member
6,462 Posts
I've tried 19t but settled back to an 18t as best compromise for me. But note a Tbird is already about 3.5% higher geared with a 150/80/16 tyre over the Legend 160/60/17.

·
Registered
123 Posts
On my 96 Adventurer, I went to a 18 as soon as I got it home. Ended up changing again to a 19. Feels much better on the highway.

Sent from my DROID X2 using Motorcycle.com Free App

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Super helpful thanks guys.. still not sure on 18T or 19T however.. keep the opinions coming! :)

It is interesting to see how many have switched.. i.e. pretty much everyone.

·
Registered
147 Posts
I wonder if there is a way to tell how many teeth there are on the countersprocket without removing the cover?