Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was riding done around 180 miles, and fuel light came on, so i went to local station, and filled the bike up, with 17.8 litres, ( to the brim but without going up the short entry way bit.

then rode home, and after about 5 miles the fuel low light comes on,
I stopped to seeif id lost all my fuel. opened the tank, ( no its full alright) closed the tank, and restarted the bike, the light had gone out.

i started riding again, and it came back on after 0.2 miles ish, (soon anyway) stopped again opened and closed the tank and it went out again, then came on again once riding, so i ignored and got home, as knew there was enough.
Didnt feel any different in throttle responce.

any ideas as to what it might be?

·
Premium Member
16,670 Posts
Could be a wiring fault, I suppose, but my first suspicion is the sender as I had one fail in my Trident. IIRC, I fixed that with baling wire rather than cough up the $110+ the stealer wanted for a new one. Worth checking, at any rate. It was a weld that had failed, quite obvious what was wrong & how to fix.

Cheers, HTH,
-Kit

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
DaveM, cheers have read sticky on new members for sprint forum, and totally agree, its a very helpful forum, and everyone should treat it with respect.

Regards my topic, i wondered if the low pressure warning light would come on if i over filled the petrol tank, allowing the breather to get blocked by petrol?

·
Registered
728 Posts
hey KitNYC, care to elaborate where the sender is located? inside the tank?....I'm having the same issue with my S3.

·
Premium Member
24,396 Posts
DaveM, cheers have read sticky on new members for sprint forum, and totally agree, its a very helpful forum, and everyone should treat it with respect.