Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
247 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all !! 8 or 10 weeks ago I put the new metal fuel connectors on, along with a new gasket for one of the airbox to throttle bodies, went to start the bike and it wouldn't start at all. I took everything apart twice, put it back together, it still wouldn't start. So having only ridden the Honda for the last while, last Saturday I thought I'd give it one final shot before giving up and going to a mechanic. It started !! But the check engine light came on. After 3 subsequent starts the check engine light went out, just like is says in the manual. I think the fault code is stored in memory. Anyway, I immediately did a 35 mile ride, no problem. Sunday I rode out 3.5 mi for a little exercise, then again it started no problem, then I went 2 blocks and the motor just quit, no warning, no nothing. The battery was dead. AAA jumped it, so I started riding home. I got about a mile, but the bike died again, no warning. Today I jumped it myself and started riding home, got nearly home when it died again. I jumped it again and made it home. The battery is 30 mos. old, the correct-spec battery for the bike, I think, a CTX14-BS. I took it to Kragens who put it on their meter and said it just needed a good charge, although it looked a little marginal on the meter from my side of the counter. I charged it up really good tonight, then put the multimeter on it. 13 V with the motor not running and 13.5-14.5 V with motor running, so the charging system is working. But now I don't trust the bike to ride it before I am certain it will run without this hassle. I'd like a Triumph dealer to check the fault code on the ECU memory, but the nearest Triumph dealer is about 30 mi. away, has a sub-dealer here but doesn't do the Triumphs on this side, and I don't trust the bike enough now to attempt to ride it over there. A tow gets pretty expensive. I'll check the voltage tomorrow to see if it is l