Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I was thinking about spray painting the metallic engine covers of my thruxton R (pic below)

Is this a good idea? I’d rather not spend lots of money on something I might be able to do myself.
I’m not a professional spray painter in any way, but have some experience.

Which products should I use? Is there a step-by-step guide online I can read/follow?
Should I remove the covers before painting or is masking good enough?

Open for all ideas and suggestions!

Thanks!

·
Registered
181 Posts
PJ1 Satin Engine Paint. Smells like hell when the bike is warmed up the first time after painting, but good stuff. Very forgiving... Almost impossible to get runs.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Remove the casings and have them powder coated or take them to a body shop and have them sprayed with two pack paint for a more durable finish . Don't worry about heat proof paint its not needed if your engine got that hot it would be the least of your problems .

·
Registered
2016 Diablo Red Thruxton 1200 R
761 Posts
Just curious BartVS if u decided what to do with your covers? I am great with a rattle can and have done covers, heel plates, swing arms and other various bike parts over the years of customizing bikes, I use 2 different high heat engine spray paint products. It works great very durable but u can’t put a clear coat on it to give it that extra layer of protection it ends up emulsifying the paint for some reason. So the paint coat can b subjected to scratches and and u would have to b careful when it comes to cleaning those parts that have been rattled can sprayed if, if u use the wrong cleaning product It will smear and ruin the paint coating.