Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looks like I get to dig into a 95 Daytona 900 to replace the Spag gears. I've never done one of these before but |I have the manual and am no stranger to the wrench.
I read about some engines being split and others its a much simpler job. Can anyone give me an idea of what it'll take and any pitfalls I might encounter.
Thanks
Mike

·
Registered
367 Posts
Targis34, I am also digging deep into mine to replace the sprag. Apparently on early engines there is a plate that can be removed and the sprag replaced. There does not seem to be a particular engine number that the change over occured. Mine does not have the plate so i am in the process of removing the engine and tearing it down. So far I have a bench covered in parts that i have taken off and no end in sight. Keep in contact and we can work through this together.
why couldn't this happen 3 months ago when it was cold ?

·
Registered
45 Posts
Sprag Clutch

Hi, If you can use a spanner, you can do the job. The previous post is correct, the earlier version of the engine does have a plate to gain access to the sprag clutch, mine didn't. I thought the most laborious task was the removal of the engine and its re-installation. For reference, You don't have to remove the clutch, the haines manual shows it removed, the triumph one doesn't. The Haines manual doesn't make reference to the un-tightening sequence that is clearly shown in the Triumph manual.
The only special tool I bought was a small torque wrench, and the only other thing I had to buy was the recommended Bearing Glue.
The engine comes apart easily and the instructions the manuals offer take you through all the steps.
If you need any more information drop me a note

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)