Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Gday campers, I have a 2006 SPEEDMASTER with 20,000 km on the clock. Around 16,000 kilometres I lost all power to my right cylinder. The workshop checked all my electrical components found nothing wrong, however the bike started and ran perfectly for the next 4000 kilometres. The same thing has happened to me again 10 minutes into a country ride. The workshop Mechanic (new guy) thought it might be my ignition coil. He swapped the coils around but the right cylinder still cut out after running the bike for 10 mins. He now suspects the CDI. At $1200 for a CDI I'm hoping he's right the first time. He is going to look around for a second hand one to save a few $$. Has anyone else out there had any problems that are similar? Any advice is more than welcome.

Aussie.

·
Registered
49 Posts
Gday campers, I have a 2006 SPEEDMASTER with 20,000 km on the clock. Around 16,000 kilometres I lost all power to my right cylinder. The workshop checked all my electrical components found nothing wrong, however the bike started and ran perfectly for the next 4000 kilometres. The same thing has happened to me again 10 minutes into a country ride. The workshop Mechanic (new guy) thought it might be my ignition coil. He swapped the coils around but the right cylinder still cut out after running the bike for 10 mins. He now suspects the CDI. At $1200 for a CDI I'm hoping he's right the first time. He is going to look around for a second hand one to save a few $$. Has anyone else out there had any problems that are similar? Any advice is more than welcome.

Aussie.
The 790 engine uses a single ignition pickup coil and relies on computing within the ignitor to offset the firing of the second coil.