Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
223 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just did a trackday on a stockish 03 with 1550 miles on it.
Before the trackday, I put in new fork oil and raised my forks 6.5mm's in the triples. In my previous life, I was an expert roadracer with Wera.

I was on the stock original tires

The good:
Handling was spot on. the old tires heated up quickly and really worked fairly well. I was never a bridgestone fan and was pleasantly surprised.

Motor was very strong out of corners but people really were not kidding about how flat this bike gets at the top of the RPM range. It is a very slow 600. I had identical top speeds on my superbike FZR 400's.

Brakes were strong throughout the day, no problems there.

The bad:

Clutch on this bike sucks. I would suggest stronger clutch springs. I upshifted with and without the clutch and it was very clunky with long delays.

The lack of speed thing

Overall, a great bike for the price. I rang its neck all day and it kept on going.

Thanks for looking!
Ed

·
Registered
600 Posts
Hi Pinballer - Did you change the engine oil? Old oil may have affected the gearchange.

Sounds like you had fun :-D

·
Registered
132 Posts
Pinballer is right on the money - My Speed Four track day went the same way.

The S4 stops and turns like the best race bikes I've ridden, and the flat torque curve from 8k to redline makes it very easy to get on the gas early, no matter what line you're on.

Upshifting is a disappointment - clunky and imprecise, it makes me consider each upshift with a backup plan... do I have time to do this twice in case it doesn't go into gear on the first try?

...and there is no "hit" on the top end, no rush of acceleration, it's like riding a twin. A mild twin.

Still, the handling, braking and easy early application of throttle make it very friendly on a tighter track - enough so I could fly past all the other street bikes I encountered, and some of the race bikes too.