Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
4,978 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there! I'm a newbie 2 this forum from Coleford in the Forest of Dean (UK). My Speedy failed 2 start xmas day. Thought at first it was the ECU failing. Mechs spent 3 days b4 they found it was the spark plugs! And this after 1900 miles!! They say that that it must have been a bad batch of lead-free petrol that caused the plugs 2 fail. They put 3 new NGK plugs in and Speedy goes like the wind again... I saw the plugs. They looked okay 2 me -- other than 2 being estremely rusty (is that normal?). Seems though that the inner (twin) electrodes had been affected. The mechs r as confused as me, but the new plugs solved the problem so they cannot b wrong!!

Has anyone else had a similar experience?

·
Banned
5,284 Posts
the rusted plugs are purdy common on these machines. If any water gits down in there, it's not designed to run out, it just sits there and rusts away on yer plugs. :hammer: Welcome to the nutboard, you'll do just fine around here if you listen to everything I say. :-D

·
Registered
4,978 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks 4 the welcome CheapB. I'm glad 2b here!

I was v. surprized @ the extent of the rust on the plugs (esp. after only such a short time), most of all tho, I couldn't understand how all 3 plugs could fail simultaneously. But they did...proof was in their replacement!

·
Registered
1,008 Posts
all 3 took a dump huh? interesting. you'd think they'd make a non-ferrous alloy plug by now.

[ This message was edited by: zooplancton on 2007-01-05 13:51 ]

·
Registered
4,978 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·