Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As a general disclaimer, I'm new to both riding and owning a motorcycle... so I am a little ignorant. A while ago I had some work done on the front end of my '03 T'bird. The wheel was bent (I'm not sure how I pulled that off as I dropped the bike at a low speed and she didn't hit anything...) and the forks were out of true. I took her in to a local shop and while they were truing the forks they replaced the gaskets that hold the headlight bracket on. I replaced the wheel myself. Everything was going good for about a week until I noticed that she felt squirrely on low speed corners. Then, she started feeling squirrely all of the time. Finally, I noticed there was more sag in the front forks than what I remembered there being before. I have no confidence in maneuvering now, and she doesn't feel like she does either. Am I mistaken in thinking that maybe the forks need some adjustment?
Thanks,
Andrew

·
Registered
3,282 Posts
I would re-check all the work that both the workshop did, and your own work replacing the front wheel.

If you got something wrong on re-assembly it could be very dangerous.

Check all the bolts and their torque settings.

My forks were also a bit saggy and when one of my fork oil seals went, I put a complete new kit in both. They weren't too expensive, but if you do it I really recommend buying the complete kit from Triumph as it also comes with the bearings and nylon piston rings.

My forks are now a lot harder than before.

·
Registered
281 Posts
Yes, ArferBrick is right. After I rebuilt my forks (bushings, seals, damper piston ring) following a catastrophic oil seal leak, the front end felt completely different. It felt much more confident than before.