Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok - a couple of admissions right up front. [1] I'm a newby [2] I own and regularly ride a Honda VTX 1300c [3] I'm an old guy at 54 [4] I am a Design Engineer - so please have patience :)

But...I did own and ride a '68 Triumph hardtail 500 for awhile and liked it (so did Marlin :D ). I do like the inline 3 Rocket - allot. Mechanically it makes sense; narrower frontal area; smoother rpms; lower center of gravity etc. It's just that it is too much for what I need. I'm a 6' 1" guy of prosperity (re: overweight) and my VTX1300 will accelerate and haul me around pretty quickly. Most of my riding though is cruising and although there is a Rocket Cruiser, I would be more comfortable at around 1500 cc.

As a holder of 10 patents I think it is probably one of the best Cruiser configurations ever - but does anyone else wish it was a bit smaller? All opinions appreciated and I have my flame retardant britches on :D

MechE

·
Registered
58 Posts
I think those that wish it was smaller have never been on one and are too inimidated by its size to even try. Everyone that I've known that has given it a whirl agrees that it is much easier to ride than they first thought, and it quickly becomes an addiction. For those that only want 1500ccs, there is a new Triumph coming out....

·
Registered
150 Posts