Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone.

I've recently come across this Bonneville wasting away under someones deck.

Story was it was bought for the guy's sister's ex-husband (boyfriend) and was a one owner machine. He never rode it and its been sitting there for about two years.

I've never owned a motorcycle (actually, I don't even know how to ride). But I am an engineer by trade and can build fix most anything (generally process equipment) so I'm pretty confident I can get it going.

I can turn in over and it has gas in it (or something that looks like gas).

Currently it doesn't run, I didn't want to try starting it since it sat for so long.

Of the stuff I can see it will need is:

Tires - $200 ?
Carb rebuild - $100
Fork Rebuild - ??
New Brake lines -??
Clean out tanks/carbs/etc
New Speedometer
Tuneup stuff
Rubber bits and pieces

All the chrome is starting to get a little light rust on it, can that be polished up?

What about the paint? Its all faded, along with the emblems.

Build date is Dec 1978 I believe

I think I can get it for about $1200.

I might be getting a layoff notice in the next month (thanks economy!) so I should have some time to work on it but I would like to be able to sell it for roughly what I paid for it, just in case;)

Any opinions on this machine? Seems like something that would be useful to terrorize the local bikers (the ones with the spandex).

·
Registered
217 Posts
I bought a '78 T140v for $2k in working order. It is a Triumph so I have put another 2 into it over time. Budgets are great but they are always going to get broken. I don't recommend old Triumphs for a bike to learn on. They have a mind of their own. However they are extremely rewarding and they are popular right now. So good luck. There are plenty of people on here who are willing to help

·
Premium Member
4,721 Posts