Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 35 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, this is my first Tiger and I want something that in New Zealand I can do both commuting and adventure riding. I am in the perfect country so no excuses. I have been considering another R1150GS which for a 2001 model is approx the same price I have been offered an 06 Tiger (Brand New Still in the box) NZ$15k.

I am 6ft 3" so the height is great for someone my size, I am also aware of how top heavy these beasts are so if I drop it, it will not be baucause I didn't know.

In the UK I owned a 2001 R1150GS which we used to tour most of England and Scotland and it was great. A few complaints like weight and handling but other than that it was an awesome bike.

I am not wanting to tour (Well I do want to but wife wont let me) the world like Ewen and Charlie so I dont think I need an GS Adventure or a KTM (Who I will not touch for their negativity during that Long Way Round Event.

I want something that will protect me and provide me good value and awesome entertainment.

So tell me whould I go with the 06 Tiger, splash out the extra for an 07 or consider another GS???

Now the serious part - I am looking to buy within 12 hours so I hope someone reads this and helps me with my dilema. The truth be known if I dont get a response I will buy the 06 runout model, so I suppose I have made my decision and looking for someone to talk me out of it. I dont think this will happen as I cannot find a negative review of the bike anywhere.

All help appreciated.

Thanks

·
Registered
540 Posts