Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What temp does your bike run at?

A buddy of mine thinks my 03' triple is running hot and since I am new to the world of bikes I don't know what is the common/average temp my bike should be running at.

Thanks.

·
Premium Member
3,030 Posts
Around 100-110 celsius is about right in slow moving traffic. On 1050s the fan comes on at 103 and goes off at 101. I'd imagine the 955s being in the same ballpark.

The radiator is a bit undersized on Triples due to cosmetic reasons and the cooling relies a bit more on the fan than most other bikes.

·
Registered
453 Posts
Hey Wisconsin,
Maybe I can save you some conversion calculations -- let's talk Fahrenheit.
My '03 will run in the high 170's low 180's in cool ambient temps (say 70 outside), but will run up to 198 on the highway when it's 100 outside. Unless it's friggin freezing, the bike will climb to 218 and the fan will kick on when in town. The fan will keep it in the 210 to 215 range. This is totally acceptable. The only way you would need to worry would be if the fan couldn't keep it under 218, otherwise you are fine.

Oh, p.s., if your bike is reading in Celsius, you hold either the select or reset button for about 3 seconds to change it. Select or reset -- one will change the mph to kph, the other will change deg C to deg F.

·
Registered
453 Posts
where is stoughton? I just rode from missouri to mauston, wi (near the dells), going through platteville, reedsburg, etc. Anywhere close??

·
Registered
379 Posts
Ah, good question. I've been meaning to enquire myself.

I ride in the southern US with outside temp commonly between 80 and 100 degrees (F).

My bike consistently runs at 6 bars indicated on the temp gauge once up and running.