Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of October's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today whilst slowing down, I released the throttle and pulled the brake lever, then "out of nowhere" the engine revved - it practically redlined. It was so sudden my bike spun off before I could pull the clutch lever. I've been on it almost every day, never before had this - the throttle cable I do not believe was stuck (and revs initially dropped before it suddenly revved up).

Anybody else seen anything like this?
Is this on a parr with freak cosmic rays cause ECU malfunction?
(Toyota Recall Might Be Caused by Cosmic Rays)

I work in the avionics sector - in my field we know this is a real problem - but one would hope comerical ECUs have triple redundant systems these days...

Either way... so totally unexpected on what has always been until now a reliable sickle

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Today whilst slowing down, I released the throttle and pulled the brake lever, then "out of nowhere" the engine revved - it practically redlined. It was so sudden my bike spun off before I could pull the clutch lever. I've been on it almost every day, never before had this - the throttle cable I do not believe was stuck (and revs initially dropped before it suddenly revved up).

Anybody else seen anything like this?
Is this on a parr with freak cosmic rays cause ECU malfunction?
(Toyota Recall Might Be Caused by Cosmic Rays)

I work in the avionics sector - in my field we know this is a real problem - but one would hope comerical ECUs have triple redundant systems these days...

Either way... so totally unexpected on what has always been until now a reliable sickle
Or is this some weird effect of E10 fuel just to stirr that nest?...

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I have not heard of that.