Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,057 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just picked up my first bike - 2004 Bonneville black with 9800 miles. The bike is pretty much flawless except the front brake pulsates more than is acceptable to me.

Reading the posts on this site, it seems like the EBC floating rotor and matching pads is the way to go. I plan to change the rotor and pads myself (I have been wrenching on cars for 35 years), but have one question: the threads say to apply moderate heat to the rotor bolts and use an impact wrench. My question is which type of wrench?

I have a pneumatic impact wrench I used with my air compressor that has four settings - I use the highest setting to remove car wheels. I have a Makita cordless impact wrench and I have one of those types that you hit with a hammer (forgotten what you call them). Which is the tool of choice?

Thanks

·
Premium Member
1,908 Posts
Mine came right off with a big wrench (2' breaker bar). Had they resisted, I'd have taken a propane torch to them. I don't think you'll have much trouble. Don't forget a little loctite when you put if back together.

·
Registered
621 Posts
I just picked up my first bike - 2004 Bonneville black with 9800 miles. The bike is pretty much flawless except the front brake pulsates more than is acceptable to me.
Make sure it isn't an out-of-true wheel hub first, or else replacing rotors won't solve the problem. I had a replacement rotor (under warranty) and then when that one also seemed to warp I asked the techie to check the hub. It was misaligned, and I got a whole new wheel (also under warranty). Your warranty is no doubt expired, but if the problem is the hub, at least you can fix the root cause.
Bob

·
Registered
1,057 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·