Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone I've recently come across a 2002 Daytona the wire harness was a complete mess so I decided to avoid any headache and get a new one

New harness came In the mail and I got to work harness fits as it should but there are a few things that look new on the harness to me compared to the old one that was on the bike when I obtained it

I'm not a master mechanic by any means but I do all my own maintenance and repairs myself.

I cannot for the life of me figure out what this connecter would even be for
Motor vehicle Automotive fuel system Automotive tire Automotive exterior Gas

Automotive tire Hood Motor vehicle Tire Bicycle tire

Maybe someone can identify this plugin? I'm baffled and it's probably something super simple lmao 馃檮

Road surface Automotive tire Asphalt Motor vehicle Plant

Side note the old harness is on the left new on the right I'd definitely say it needed replaced.

Registered
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
No worries still no idea on what that connection could be to? Harness fits besides a single lead length from stator to RR but this plug-in just has me curios. It don't seem to impede any function on the bike that I have noticed

Registered
2000 Speed Triple 955i
No idea mate, sorry. The same connector is used for the separate engine loom on pre-2002 bikes like I said but no idea what it's for on later bikes. There were a lot of slightly different looms for the same model year-on-year so that makes things even more confusing.

Registered
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
I know in either 99 or 2000 the harness was revised so maybe it's a extra connection that was done away with in 2000? Either way I do believe they used to same harness with a change in it here and there so I'm not sure will definitely do some more research.

I think you are correct because the old harness don't even have that connection so maybe it is a older harness.