Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone have any recommendations or experiences with Devon Rim Company or Central Wheel Components or any other company making replacement wheels. Also stainless steel vs steel rims? I am currently restoring my 1967 Bonneville.
Tri-Pilot

·
Registered
3,324 Posts
of the two companies - Central Wheel Co has been trading for a lot longer - i have used them for wheel rebuilds occasionaly over the last 30 or so years and always had quallity work done using top quality materials -- Devon Rim i have no experience of but have never heard negative comments -- from memory i think Devon were the first (in the UK) to develop s/steel rims -- also from memory i think Devon make their rims whereas Central buy theirs in ---- i could easily be wrong on both counts so if anyone knows better please correct me

·
Registered
1,119 Posts
I have CWC stainless rims and spokes on three of my four machine. They were built onto hubs that CWC also powder coated. They'll supply and fit tyres at competitive prices, too. They've also powder coated two of the frames. I've found them to be easy to work with and the quality of the works has been high.
I have no knowledge of the Devon Rim Company as I've never had any dealings with them.
John

·
Premium Member
10,317 Posts
Another for cwc.
I have had two bikes/four wheels done in stainless rims and spokes.

Don't use stainless if you are a rivet counter but to me it is a no brainer and I have a lot of stainless on my bike anyway.
Cwc have their own brand of rims so although they may not be made on the premises, they are more than just bought in?

·
Registered
9,669 Posts